Repent

05Feb06

G3340
μετανοέω
metanoeō
Thayer Definition:
1) to change one’s mind, i.e. to repent
2) to change one’s mind for better, heartily to amend with abhorrence of one’s past sins
Part of Speech: verb
Mar 1:15  And saying, The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand: repent ye, and believe the gospel.
Repent means to change your mind, to decide to turn to God, to trust in what Jesus did at the Cross to make us right.  We can’t set ourselves free from sin.
 
The notion that we can repent of our sins is wrong, read what Paul says:
Rom 7:23  But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.
Rom 7:24  O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?
The Apostle Paul said this in his struggle as a born-again Christian.
Rom 7:25  I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

 Jesus the author and finisher of our faith, He gives us a new nature.  Jesus only can purge us of sin. 
Heb 12:2 Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

I like the part of “despising the shame”, while others may look at us for the sins that we have committed that we have been forgiven for, Jesus despises the shame of them!  Why look to what Jesus despises???  If you don’t forgive Jesus won’t forgive you!  Mat 6:15  But if ye forgive not men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.  Mat 18:35  So likewise shall my heavenly Father do also unto you, if ye from your hearts forgive not every one his brother their trespasses.  Do you want Jesus to despise you???

No Responses Yet to “Repent”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

